On novelist J. M. Coetzee and his masterpiece, ‘Waiting for the Barbarians’

I express my heartfelt thanks to Ms. Arpita Pramanick for having me as a guest blogger on her blog Scribbles@Arpita. She is a thoughtful young lady and an aspiring author with a strong observation power. Her short story, “I am Mala” is published on eFiction magazine in the May, 2015 edition. Her first book of short stories, “Bound by Life”, will release on June 20, 2015 on Amazon Kindle. Now, I myself is quite new to writing and when she asked me to write on her blog in the Saturday-special “Guest Blog” series on “writing”, I was a bit confused about what to write! Finally I ended up reviewing a book of the celebrated author J. M. Coetzee. I hope you will like it.

Scribbles@Arpita

Today’s guest post is written by Ms. Swagata Mukherjee, with whom I have had the good fortune to share a room for the last five months of my engineering program. Swagata is pursuing her Ph.D. in experimental high energy physics, has travelled widely and shares her travel exploits in her blog, Through My Eyes. The pictures on her blog are also mostly photographed by her. She is also passionate about books. Today, on my request, she shares with us her views on novelist J.M. Coetzee’s ‘Waiting for the Barbarians’. Thank you so much, Swagata Di, for this guest-post.


Not being a widely-read person, especially in English literature, I would have probably never come across a book written by J. M. Coetzee if a Bengali publishing house didn’t come up with a Bengali translation of some of the masterpieces of the Nobel laureate author. This year, at the Kolkata…

View original post 528 more words

One thought on “On novelist J. M. Coetzee and his masterpiece, ‘Waiting for the Barbarians’

Leave a Reply

